A Journey from Mechanical Engineer to Software Engineer

A Journey from Mechanical Engineer to Software Engineer

Hi all,

This is a Journey from an Average Mechanical Engineer to a Software Developer. This post is for those who want to switch their career from any engineering field to the software engineer/software developer field.

I completed my Bachelor's Degree in 2018 and got a job as a customer service associate in Amazon. This was a proper BPO job which I didn't want to do but had no choice because I lacked in my domain skills at that time.

After completing 1 year in the non-technical field, I found out there was no further improvement in that job. Hence decided to go to learn some technical skills. I started surfing on the internet for technical skills are easier to learn for a mechanical engineer & which languages can be learned by mechanical engineer students & which is the best language to learn to get a job for a mechanical engineer or non-technical background person and something like that, which I find funny now, however that time was really difficult for me and I know that if you are a person from different background and wants to learn some skills which are not from your domain, you would also start with such question.

And after surfing for 1 month I found out this is not going to help, because I started learning C++, dropped in between then started JAVA again dropped, then PYTHON, and the same thing again, because it was hard for me to get choose within one of them, then I decided to go with any one of them and choose JAVA. I found some beautiful courses on JAVA on YouTube which got me interested in it. I am sharing some of those starting courses which you might also find good to start with JAVA as a language.

Other than Technical Skills to clear Aptitude one should also be good at Quantitative, Logical, Data Interpretation, and Verbal Ability.
I started learning Aptitude as well from a famous website IndiaBix which is helpful to get you cleared your aptitude exam.

I learned JAVA for 4 months and at the same time aptitude as well and gave an NQT test in TCS and cleared it in the first attempt, however, did not clear interview, but I again got a chance to give an interview, and this time I gave it confidently and got selected. It's not that I was good at JAVA at that time, however, the confidence to show the interviewer that even if I don't know anything, I am willing to learn it. This gives us a chance to stand in the crowd of people from that same domain. And also I still don't know complete JAVA yet, but still learning every day is increasing the amount of understanding of programming language.

Here are some of the YouTube channels which might find interesting to you if you want to start learning JAVA as a language

Some free courses to learn java

1.) CodeWithHarry:- This person does not have more content on JAVA, however, his 1-hour video might get you started with it. He teaches in Hindi which is good for a person to understand the basics of JAVA from a different background person.

2.) Durga Software Solutions:- Durga Sir's lectures will give you a depth understanding of how JAVA works and how to become a master in it.

3.) PepCoding:- This channel has a full course on Data Structures and Algorithms using JAVA. completing this will get to the top software companies, I am still using this and completing the course.

Hence to get a job in IT you require basics of any 1 language, Aptitude, and confidence in the interview. And to learn any language, you need to be consistent in learning it for at least 1 hour every day. This is the path I followed to get an entry-level job in the IT industry coming from a different domain.

Thank you for reading.